Mac OS X 10.2 through 10.3.9: Wrong folder moved to Trash when deleting in Finder in column view
Deleting a new, untitled folder without first renaming it (in column view) may inadvertently move the parent folder to the Trash under certain circumstances. This article applies to Mac OS X 10.2 through 10.3.9.
When you create a new folder, the name is immediately editable. If you move that folder to the the Trash via one of two specific methods [cmd-delete is what I do] before entering a name and the Finder window is in column view, then the parent folder will be moved to the Trash...
* Using the Command-Delete key combination in the Finder
* Choosing Move to Trash from the File menu in the Finder
Monday, July 31, 2006
Apple's not patching 10.3.9 any more, but this is pretty bad.